09 November 2010

Risk Reduction Strategies on Facebook

(danah boyd)
Mikalah uses Facebook but when she goes to log out, she deactivates her Facebook account. She knows that this doesn't delete the account – that's the point. She knows that when she logs back in, she'll be able to reactivate the account and have all of her friend connections back. But when she's not logged in, no one can post messages on her wall or send her messages privately or browse her content. But when she's logged in, they can do all of that. And she can delete anything that she doesn't like. Shamika doesn't deactivate her Facebook profile but she does delete every wall message, status update, and Like shortly after it's posted. She'll post a status update and leave it there until she's ready to post the next one or until she's done with it. Then she'll delete it from her profile. When she's done reading a friend's comment on her page, she'll delete it.